Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

Past Winners

2020-2021 Prize Winners

·  Charmco Custom Rods, a custom fishing rod startup founded by West Virginia State student Caleb Currence ($5,000);

·  Still City Strings, an electric violin manufacturer founded by WVU industrial engineering major Andrew Percy ($3,000);

·  Wireless Telemetry, a brand of wireless heart monitors invented by University of Charleston student Sarah Ball ($2,250);

·  The Easy Leash, a braked dog leash invented by WVU industrial engineering major Anthony Garber ($2,250);

·  PetRecord, a nano-chip system for tracking pet health records invented by WVU animal and nutritional sciences major Emma Adams ($1,500),

·  Joe 2 Go, a coffee concentrate invented by WVU management major Mackenzie Halliday and biochemistry major Zach Swartz ($1,000),

·  Divi, designed to address the need for small loans for short periods of time, was invented by WVU Finance majors Alex Cappadona and Akshay Suresh ($1,000).


2019-20 winners

STEM/Innovation: Parthian Battery Solutions

Kyle Seese & Samuel Chico, West Virginia University($10,000 grand prize)

Lifestyle & Hospitality: Shake It Out Fitness Flask

Jesica Temple & Nick Partington, West Virginia University($10,000 grand prize + $4,000 ZinnStarter funding)

2018-19 Winners

L-R: Alan Brockman, Iconic EDU, Andrew Rhode, The Neighborhood Kombuchery, Ashley Hoskins & Aaron Simon Farm to Fork Meat Processing  

L-R: Alan Brockman, Iconic EDU; Andrew Rhodes, The Neighborhood Kombuchery; Ashley Hoskins & Aaron Simon Farm to Fork Meat Processing

2017-18 Winners

People holding checks.
L-R: Hemeworks Technology – Taylor Clemons, Ebiechina Ezekwesli and Jawanda Davis; Inspiration Bakery – Mikayla Akers; and Voix Rx – Rawlings Ebot Enow, Stephanie Turner and Koffi Amegadje

2016-17 Winners

Group of people
L-R: H2OLD-It - Keith Heisler;
SwifTag Systems - Zach Wright and Brandon Lucke-Wold;
Byrd's & Bee's - Matthew Byrd

2015-16 Winners

Group of people
L-R: Appalachian Aqua Farms - Chris Veazey and Ashley Clark;
Breaking Ground Sports (formerly Go Play Enterprises) - Noelle Honeycutt;
Creative Health - Emily Wells and Reem Eldawud

2014-15 Winners

Group of people
L-R: Precision Agriculture Sampling Services - Emily Wells;
Sustainable Dental Products - Joshua Waggoner & Madelyn Harwell;
Allegheny Genesis Jordan Masters;
Pubstomper Brewing Company - Cody Cheesebrough & Chris DeFazio

2013-14 Winners

Group of people
L-R: Mountain State Hydroponics Coach Ajay Aluri, Winner Gaylynn
Johnson, and Coach Frank DeMarco; RenaSnacks Coach Nikki Bowmar
and Winner Jessica Elliott; Weld Safe Technologies Winners Alan Davis
and Harold Vass and Coach Fonda Holehouse

2012-13 Winners

Randi Dove
Randi Dove, Randi Dove Farms
Eric Watkins
Eric Watkins, Dub V Safe Ride

2011-12 Winners

Group of people
Meg Grzeskiewicz (left), Bulls-I Breeding Technology
and Katie Workman (right), Mountain Essence Local Cuisine

2010-11 Winners

Group of people
Grant Bayerle, CardRecs
Group of people
John Elias and Stephen Redmond, Appleseed's Farm Market

2009 - 2010 Winners

Group of people
Logan Hartle, DecoKrete
Group of people
Jillian Cobb and Chade Lowe, Plandoms

2008 -09 Winners

Group of people
James Kearns, Deep Sticks Drilling, Inc.
Group of people
Robert Loehr, SpokeArt

2007-08 Winners

John Failing & Jessica Oswald and Nick Anthony & Andrew Higgins

2006-07 Winners

Margie Starcher & Will Starcher and Derrick McKee

2005-06 Winners

Christopher Yahn & Brandon Yahn

2004-05 Winner

Katherin Harrell

2003-04 Winner

Andrew Whit Guitars
Andrew White